2/24- Heavy Metal News Round Up || Feat. Turisas, Ulver, Uriah Heep, November’s Doom, Autopsy, Scar Symmetry, Moonsorrow, and Soilwork


A smattering of the day's heavy metal news in one convenient post...

Much props to Metal Sucks for breaking this story: Scar Symmetry have a new album, titled The Unseen Empire, due out on April 15. Pre orders are available through Nuclear Blast here. Stay tuned because we’ll be more on this in the near future. Hell, we may even be inclined to give it away when it comes out… 


Yesterday I praised it and today you can hear it for yourself. Moonsorrow’s new album, Varjoina Kuljemme Kuolleiden Maassa, is streaming in its entirety on Record Shop X’s web site. The stream will only be available until March 1 so hurry over and get you bandwidth’s worth. 

After the jump: Turisas full album stream, a new Ulver track, Novembers Doom new album, Autopsy news, a Soilwork video, and more…

Official press release: Chicago’s Novembers Doom has finished recording their eighth full-length album entitled Aphotic.  The album is set for release on May 10th on The End Records.  Frontman Paul Kuhr says of the release, “One goal in Novembers Doom is to never repeat ourselves.  We aim to constantly challenge our writing abilities to deliver something new each and every time, while maintaining what we feel is our signature sound. We feel we've not only accomplished that with Aphotic, but have pushed our creativity into new musical territory.  The result is quite possibly the most unique Novembers Doom release yet.”


Stand Up and Fight, Turisas’ third full-length offering, is available to stream in it’s entirety until March 1 at the Record Shop X website. The album will be available in the US on March 8. 

Ulver has changed the name of their upcoming album from Critical Geography to Wars of the Roses. Below you can stream a track from said album, titled February MMX. No release date has been announced for Wars of the Roses yet, but we’ll keep you updated. 


Soilwork released the video above for the track Let This River Flow today. This song comes off the band’s latest release, The Panic Broadcast, out now on Nuclear Blast Records. 

Photo by Raymond Ahner

In an exclusive studio report for Invisible Oranges, Autopsy has revealed new details on their forthcoming album, Macabre Eternal. Click here for full details and a brief audio interview with the band.

And finally… Uriah Heep will release their 23rd (holy shit!) studio album, Into The Wild, on May 3 through Frontiers Records. If you point your browsers over to Blabbermouth.net you can check out three new tracks from the album and exclusive video footage of the band in the studio.

Into The Wild’s track listing is as follows:

01. Nail On The Head
02. I Can See You
03. Into The Wild
04. Money Talk
05. Trail Of Diamonds
06. Lost
07. Believe
08. Southern Star
09. I'm Ready
10. T-bird Angel
11. Kiss Of Freedom

Click here to follow us on Facebook and here to see/contribute to a list of 2011’s Heavy Metal Releases

Average: 5 (2 votes)

About Josh Johns

Josh Johns's picture


Chief Editor and Writer for Metal CallOut. Favorite sub genre of heavy metal includes Black, Death, Folk and Traditional. Josh can be found at Google+.

Subscribe to Metal CallOut