Amorphis - Sampo | Call-Out


  • Artist: Amorphis
  • Title: Sampo
  • Album: Skyforger
  • Track: 1
  • Year: 2009
  • Length: 6:09 minutes (5.66 MB)
  • Format: MP3 Stereo 44kHz 128Kbps (CBR)
From: Finland
Discography: “The Karelian Isthums” (1992), Tales From the Thousand Lakes” (1994), “Elegy” (1996), “Tuonela” (1999), “Am Universum” (2001), “Far From The Sun” (2003), “Eclipse” (2006), “Silent Waters” (2007), “Skyforger” (2009)
Amorphis started as a melodic death metal band, but in more recent years their style incorporates elements of progressive and doom metal. Formed in 1990, Amorphis recorded four studio albums with vocalist Pasi Koskinen. In 2004 after recording “Far From The Sun”, Pasi left the band. Vocalist Tomi Joutsen of Sinsthra then joined the band and aided in the bands increasingly progressive shift into more diverse styles. The most current line up of Amorphis is:
Tomi Joutsen- vocals
Esa Holopainen- guitar
Tomi Koivusaari- guirar
Niclas Etlavuori- bass
Santeri Kallio- keyboards
Jan Rechberger- drums
I love Amorphis because its kind of like getting two bands in one. From 1992-2003 you have a very progressive, hateful, melodic death metal band that showed steady betterment through the years and helped define a genre. Then from 2006’s “Eclipse” on you have a more defined, groundbreaking, Kalevala inspired work of progressive metal awesomeness. Got out and get “Tales From The Thousand Lakes” then “Skyforger” then everything in between. Amorphis will attract fans of Sentenced, Katatonia and Insomnium
No votes yet

About Josh Johns

Josh Johns's picture


Chief Editor and Writer for Metal CallOut. Favorite sub genre of heavy metal includes Black, Death, Folk and Traditional. Josh can be found at Google+.

Subscribe to Metal CallOut