Shiny Pennies || Thee Orakle - All Way Down


  • Artist: Thee Orakle
  • Title: All Way Down
  • Album: Metaphortime
  • Track: 2
  • Year: 2009
  • Length: 5:20 minutes (7.33 MB)
  • Format: MP3 Stereo 44kHz 192Kbps (CBR)

This week's Shiny Penny is an extremely underrated and almost unknown Portuguese doom-death metal band, Thee Orakle.  Guess who recommend the said Shiny Penny? Yup, Mat again, and for the win. 

Thee Orakle was formed in 2004 in the small inland community of Vila Real, Portugal.  Without much fanfare, Thee Orakle released a demo in 2005 and an EP titled ‘Secret’ in 2007.  Finally in 2009, Thee Orakle released their debut full-length ‘Metaphortime’. 

Metaphortime’ (the only work from the band I've sampled) is an all together promising debut, blending elements of gothic metal and doom, perhaps un-originally, but in all, quite impressively.  The most surprising element of the band is actually something I usually despise -- clean female vocals.  (You already know how I feel about Epica and similar bands).  Thee Orakle blends the amazing vocal stylings of their female vocalst, Micaela Cardoso with harsh grunts from male vocalist Pedro Silva and rounds them out with the superior musicianship of Almedia (bass), Lopes (drums), Pinheiro (guitar), Ricardo (keyboard), and Dias (guitar), all to my satisfaction. 

Thee Orakle is not for everyone, but fans of the genre will undoubtably be happy with this Shiny Penny.  Press the play button above to hear ‘All Way Down’, the second track from Thee Orakle's ‘Metaphortime’.  You can also view their MySpace page.

Average: 4.9 (7 votes)

About Josh Johns

Josh Johns's picture


Chief Editor and Writer for Metal CallOut. Favorite sub genre of heavy metal includes Black, Death, Folk and Traditional. Josh can be found at Google+.

Subscribe to Metal CallOut