Album Review | Summoning- Oath Bound


  • Artist: Summoning
  • Title: Might and Glory
  • Album: Oath Bound
  • Track: 4
  • Year: 2006
  • Length: 8:26 minutes (14.85 MB)
  • Format: MP3 Stereo 44kHz 245Kbps (VBR)

Metal Call-Out is as much about our discovery of music as it is about helping you, the reader discover a gem. Therefore it is to be expected that some of the material may be a bit dated, but relevant all the same. Such is the case of the following review of Summoning’s 2006 album Oath Bound. Too often I skip over bands worthy of page space because of time constraints or the sheer enormity of metal available for my listening pleasure.

Summoning was one such band and I am almost ashamed of myself for discovering them only late this year. ‘Oath Bound’ took me on a sonic journey through middle-earth by way of sweeping atmospheres, Tolkien inspired lyrics spat forth by my favorite black-metal vocalist thus far, and song structure of epic proportion. Worthy of a spot in the annals of my iTunes ‘favored’ playlist, Summoning is not a band to be missed, passed up or forgotten. Favorite tracks: ‘Across the Streaming Tide’ and ‘Land of the Dead’.

Average: 5 (1 vote)

About Josh Johns

Josh Johns's picture


Chief Editor and Writer for Metal CallOut. Favorite sub genre of heavy metal includes Black, Death, Folk and Traditional. Josh can be found at Google+.

Subscribe to Metal CallOut