Album of the Day || Hieronymus Bosch- Equivoke


  • Artist: Hieronymus Bosch
  • Title: Monad Hecatomb
  • Album: Equivoke
  • Track: 3
  • Year: 2008
  • Length: 7:04 minutes (11.91 MB)
  • Format: MP3 Stereo 44kHz 235Kbps (VBR)

The now defunct Hieronymus Bosch are way, way up there on my list of “favorite bands that aren't quite top ten material”. Formed in 1993 in Moscow, Russia, Hieronymus Bosch only released three full-length albums in the almost 17 years of their reign before breaking up in April of 2010 and while each and every one of them is more than a worthy listen, I’ve chosen 2008’s Equivoke as today’s album of the day. 

The one thing that made Hieronymus Bosch stand out from the crowd was their ability to craft technical and progressive death metal sans the traditional wank often associated with the genre. Melody and songsmanship (I know that’s not a work but it works here) were never sacrificed in the name of technicality and though most of Equivoke is unrelenting in it’s brutality, the band still afforded moments on the album where the listener could catch their breath. Though Hieronymus Bosch’s debut, The Human Abstract, still remains for me their best effort, Equivoke holds a solid place in line as second best but is perhaps their more “approachable” record and an appropriate (though maybe not prime) starting point for those new to the band.  

With that, I present to you the track Monad Hecatomb (press the play button above).  Check it out, let us know what you think, then take some time this week to get acquainted with the rest of the Hieronymus Bosch catalogue. You will not regret it. 

Average: 4.8 (6 votes)

About Josh Johns

Josh Johns's picture


Chief Editor and Writer for Metal CallOut. Favorite sub genre of heavy metal includes Black, Death, Folk and Traditional. Josh can be found at Google+.

Subscribe to Metal CallOut